Getting Placed: Was it Hard-Work or Mere Luck?


Before the placement season started at Symbiosis Institute of Operations Management (SIOM), Nashik, I had decided that I’ll apply only to firms operating in the services sector and I won’t keep my expectations too high. Each one of us used to eagerly wait for the mail from the placements mail id. One day we got in our mailboxes a mail asking the interested students having more than 2 years of experience to apply for KPIT Cummins Infosystems, Pune for roles of Project Lead & Operations Manager. I being having 21 months of work-experience was not eligible to apply as per the required work-experience criterion. However, going by this condition, a large chunk of people falling in the bracket of 20 to 23 months experience were not eligible. I amongst many others requested our placement team to insist the KPIT Cummins to relax their condition of work-experience. After talking to KPIT Cummins, finally this condition was relaxed and students with more than 20 months of work-experience were allowed to apply for the company. With around 84% of my fellow class-mates being having prior work-experience, I thought I had bleak chances of getting short listed in the company.

It was on December 18, 2009, when KPIT Cummins visited our campus. They had a shortlist of just 7 students for the role of Operations Manager. I was pleasantly surprised to find my name at Sr. No. 2 of the shortlist. I had not prepared anything for the selection process. I quickly went to my hostel room and picked my file having all the academic & extra-curricular certificates. I asked one of my friends to take the print-out of my resume and in the mean-time I quickly had my lunch. After that I immediately rushed towards the interview room. Interviews were about to begin and my turn was immediately after the first candidate.

During the interview I was bombarded with many questions. I would like to share one question for which I gave a very funny answer. I was asked by interviewers to choose any one of the two subjects viz. History & Geography. After thinking for a while, I chose Geography. Interviewer asked me to explain the reason. Here goes my funny answer:

“It’s because History keeps on repeating itself and I’ll get to learn history one way or the other from the future happenings. But Geography I’ll have to explore on my own!”

Finally, when the interviews got over, out placement co-ordinator announced my name and asked me to meet the interviewers. This was primarily a negotiation round wherein I was supposed to divulge my expectations. I was unable to control my happiness and I was ready to accept any reasonable package for the position of Operations Manager and that too for a place like Pune. They offered me X.XX LPA and without even a sign of reluctance, I readily accepted their offer. I couldn’t believe that I got placed and that too in a company for which I was initially not eligible! This is what destiny had for me. Today when I look back, I realise that chance attributed more to my placement than my hard-work.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Varun Verma on March 16, 2010 at 10:58 PM

    Sometimes U work hard but somehow u dont get the ‘deserved’ result & then sometimes u dont work ‘that’ hard & get more than what u deserve! I believe overall we do get what we truly deserve! So, according to me, this was not by chance but u, actually deserved it!:)

    Reply

    • Very true! Nature maintains a balance of everything. I can still remember those days of engineering when I had put in a lot of hard-work but was rejected by many companies initially. Each and every experience culminated in a new learning.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Manav on March 16, 2010 at 11:13 PM

    Well written….guess we guys wud learn a lot frm this in the coming year…..

    Reply

  3. yup…its true that ur luck shud be in favor of u on the “D” day but it constitute for max 10-15%…other 85% are there with u and ur hard work pays in a way or other…the same case was with me as i was also short of 2 months (the criteria for PM profile was also 24 or above) and we both went to meet our PLC head, if u remember and we both only got thru it…:)

    Reply

    • Nice to receive comment from my to-be-colleague! It’s true that hard-work never goes waste. At some or other point in life, you do get benefited by virtue of that hard-work.

      Reply

  4. Posted by savin on March 17, 2010 at 12:40 AM

    400 hits in less than 4 weeks!!!! machadi

    Reply

    • Close to 400 hits in less than 2 weeks to be precise! But it’s not that I write for hits. Certainly, I do like comments and it gives me even more inspiration to write if I find that my blog has been of some help to someone.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Mehul on March 17, 2010 at 6:49 PM

    Gud 1 VJ. I am happy to c the typical VJ flair in the post.
    You (both u and Prabhat) rocked it nd made thru..Kudos to both of u…

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sunny Guglani on April 18, 2010 at 11:08 PM

    Well written Varun. Kudos on the job offer and best of luck for all your future endeavors. Destiny helps those who help themselves.

    Reply

    • It was a pleasant surprise to see your comment on my blog, rather complement I should say! Do let me know when you come to India. I’ll be based in Pune.

      Reply

  7. Good post…Just wanted to share this with you ‘Luck is when opportunity meets preparation’..you get only what you deserve!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Viral on June 22, 2010 at 12:34 AM

    Hello Varun,

    I may be a bit late in placing a comment over here, but better late than never.

    I feel your elite placement is a case, moreso, related to the LUCK factor (No, i dont mean to undermine ur talent or hard work by saying so), coupled with ur excitement to work for a company.

    The case of enthusiasm & excitement for the human beings, under certain circumstances, is so strong that other thing come secondary in terms of hierarcy.

    Salary and designation are not primary aspects to start with, under certain circumstances. Even if the remunaration is not up to the mark, the prima facie need of the hour was always to register ur entry into the company & if ur efforts are genuine other all ameneties has no other option but to follow you eventually.

    Thus, the excitement quotient ensured that you had realistic expectations in terms of remuneration. This allowed flexibility for yourself to break-in more easily.

    Dear Varun, take me no wrong. In whole of my above comment, i’ve made no mention of the word talent, without which you would have never got that placement.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

