My Alma Mater – I Salute You


Today is the day when my alma mater, Symbiosis Institute of Operations Management (SIOM) Nashik, completes its successful journey of 5 years. And my blog post coincides on this beautiful day of foundation of my alma mater. It was on this very day of the year 2005 that existing Nashik campus of Symbiosis Centre for Management & Human Resource Development (SCMHRD) was rechristened as SIOM after inauguration at the hands of Mr. Baba Kalyani.

When I joined SIOM to pursue my MBA in Operations, I thought that two year period would be a long duration. But, time passed away so quickly only to realise later that the day to bid adieu to my institute had arrived. Most of us had doubts galore when we entered the institute to pursue our Masters. But today when we look back, we certainly not only cherish the memories of our time spent at the institute, but also thank our destiny to bring us to such a place.

I found it difficult initially to adapt to a 7-day working schedule of the institute. But, gradually I got used to it. First semester exams at the institute were one amongst the most horrific times of my life. Two final exams scheduled every day for almost a week in the first semester gave me the sleepless nights. I tried my level best to sleep as early as possible; however, the nightmare of two tough papers scheduled for the subsequent day virtually never let me sleep for a week-long exam time. Today, those horrific moments have become memorable moments for me.

I still treasure the teachings & assignments of Mr. Y. R. Rao, when we used to sit at the green turf and discuss the case-studies for hours without any breakthrough. The teachings of Mr. Rao, who served as the CEO of many public limited companies, gave a new angle to my thought process. Another wonderful fellow was Mr. Vivek Kaul, former Head HR India– Kimberly-Clark, who made a seemingly boring subject like “Principles & Practices of Management” most interesting for us. These two teachers were my all-time favourite.

Today, I take immense proud in calling myself an alumnus of SIOM. For everything I am today, I owe it to a large extent to none other than the institute. Hope I’ll able to visit my institute some day again for all the good reasons.

Goodbyes are not forever. Goodbyes are not the end. They simply mean I’ll miss you until we meet again!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Well said yaar…Definitely gonna cherish the time spent @ SIOM…Missing the college life a lotttt…😦😦😦

    Reply

  2. Posted by JSW on June 12, 2010 at 12:21 AM

    what abt PU……looking for your opinion on the learning experience from both the institutes and strength analysis

    Reply

    • Thanks Jujhar for asking an interesting question!
      PU made me develop my technical competencies. However, as an individual, the real development happened post PU i.e. in Infosys & SIOM where I got the ample opportunities to exploit and consequently develop myself. It was my fault that I failed to encash on opportunities provided by PU. I am myself to blame for it. Will discuss with you some day in detail.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Rajesh Manoharan on June 12, 2010 at 10:54 AM

    Nicely written Varun! You took me 5 years back🙂 the experience are really great and unique. I miss those days..

    Reply

    • It was a pleasant surprise to receive the comment from one of the pioneer batch alumni of SIOM. In fact, it were you folks who set the foundation of SIOM; we just followed your footsteps. SIOM is one amongst the rare institutes to have shown as to how fast an institute can progress within a short span of time. If I were to credit this to a single group, it would have been none other than the pioneer batch.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Pratiksha on June 17, 2010 at 1:59 PM

    Too good hai….

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sagar Birwadkar on March 11, 2011 at 4:59 PM

    Good one Jindal Bhai…

    Reply

  6. good one Jindal…..thanx for not mentioning unnecessary names in blog🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by Neha jain on June 11, 2015 at 4:21 PM

    Nice one Jindal..all the fond memories of SIOM year just flashed in front of my eyes🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

